Disable Win 8.1 (64 Bit) Smart Screen?

JWA

Complete noob here so bear that in mind please.......

Trying to download and install the latest version of SABnzb v3.7. , currently have v3.1.1 running without problems or issues but think it might be prudent having the latest version. Something called "smart screen" stops the downloaded file from opening and being installed. My computer is HP built but I cannot find a way to disable that feature allowing me to update that particular feature.

ANY help would be appreciated, talk to me like a 3 year old but not that tech savvy!

TIA

My Computer

System One

• OS
    Win8.1 Pro
Disable Windows Defender service, works fine for me.

My Computer

System One

• OS
    Windows 8.1 Professional x64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i7 3770 (non K) @ 4.45 GHZ / Ryzen 5 3600
    Motherboard
    MSI Z77 / MSI B450
    Memory
    16GB DDR3 / 16GB DDR4
    Graphics Card(s)
    GTX 1050 Ti / GTX 970
    Screen Resolution
    x2 1920x1080
    Internet Speed
    10 Mb/s Down | 2Mb/s Up
    Browser
    Google Chrome 109
    Antivirus
    No
    Other Info
    No Windows Update/Windows Defender
Try from Control Panel :)

Control Panel > System and Security > Action Center > Change Windows SmartScreen settings

1669565215180.png

My Computer

System One

• OS
    Windows 8.1 Professional x64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i7 3770 (non K) @ 4.45 GHZ / Ryzen 5 3600
    Motherboard
    MSI Z77 / MSI B450
    Memory
    16GB DDR3 / 16GB DDR4
    Graphics Card(s)
    GTX 1050 Ti / GTX 970
    Screen Resolution
    x2 1920x1080
    Internet Speed
    10 Mb/s Down | 2Mb/s Up
    Browser
    Google Chrome 109
    Antivirus
    No
    Other Info
    No Windows Update/Windows Defender
^^^ Thanks for sharing that bit of information--will be helpful in the future I'm sure.